The Electoral Boundaries Review Committee has redrawn the electoral boundaries and the government has accepted the recommendations.

What’s new?

There will be 89 Parliamentary seats.  Currently, there are 87 seats. boundary changes 2015

Single Member Constituencies have been increased from 12 to 13.  In the process, 3 new constituencies have been carved out and 2 have been dissolved:

New SMCs – Bukit Batok, Fengshan, MacPherson – All 3 were previously single member constituencies.  (I remember Bukit Batok as a close contest when I was residing there with some 800 votes differnce. )

The two dissolved SMCs are Joo Chiat (which is not a surprise) and Whampoa (where Heng Chee How had a comfortable win in the last election)

GRCs have been increasesd from 15 to 16 GRCs

New GRCs – Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC and Jalan Besar GRC.  Jalan Besar used to be on the electoral map and disappeared in the 2011 elections.
Moulmein-Kallang GRC, which was newly formed for the last elections, has been dissolved.